Have you tried turning it off and on again.

After more than three years with my Compaq Presario laptop – all 80GB hard drive, 512MB RAM of it – I am finally getting a new, better computer. A desktop computer. (God knows what I was thinking when I went for a laptop. I’m going to university, everyone uses laptops and takes them to classes? Yeah. Right.)

Yes. You read that correctly. 512 megabytes of RAM. What are we, living in the stone ages? Why not just give me a cave wall to draw on, Compaq? And hey, Past Me, how about thinking before entering a two-year contract to rent such a crappy computer?

No, I didn’t know much about computers. The thing that swung the vote in favour of this particular laptop was that it wasn’t as ugly as the other ones. In fact, for a PC, it was/is actually kind of… nice.

Unfortunately, I quickly learned a hard lesson in such proverbs as ‘looks aren’t everything’ and ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’.

Overall, it has served its purpose. It usually didn’t serve it very efficiently, or in a way that didn’t make me want to split it with an axe, but hey, it enabled me to use the Internet in bed.

But even Devin thinks it’s not good enough for his general computing needs.

“Man, all I want to do is Google ‘zvcdejjfJFIFJMS..SL;F.’ you silly computer.”

“Oh my gosh, Mum, I can’t stand this any more.”

“Take it away. I’m going to go squeal at my toys and chew things I shouldn’t.”

I will still have to put up with this one until the new computer is delivered, and until I buy a monitor. (All right, so I bought new boots instead of a monitor. They’re my first pair ever, and it’s my birthday next week, so… Look, I’m not great at prioritising.)

I just wanted to share the good news.

Liss

Leave a Reply

