December Devin

Devin picked up a dead spider and presented it to us while we were eating lunch recently, which is what everyone wants to be gifted with during a meal. I believe it went something along the lines of, “Oh hey buddy, what have you got ther- Ugh! Oh no! No no no!”

In more gross-but-later-funny news… Devin added a little something to his bath the other day. It was only the third time it has ever happened, but that’s not the best (worst) part. I waited to make sure he was done, then pulled him out and let him run naked while I cleaned it up. You already see my mistake…
Our bedroom, on the carpet, nice and trodden in. Like a really unpleasant version of Cluedo. Poodo.
We’d been pretty lucky with no major poop incidents up until then, but I guess the spell had to break sometime.

In that’s-not-funny-and-never-will-be-actually-that’s-really-frustrating-stop-it news… He spits his food out, and it’s driving me nuts. He will be happily eating something, open his mouth for the spoon as usual, but then push the food back out with his tongue for no apparent reason. Or he’ll spit a wad of half-chewed snack into his hand and give it to me.
And I used to wonder how mothers handled things like that. How could they just hold someone else’s pre-chewed food like it was no big deal? Like it didn’t want to make them gag?
I still think it’s not particularly pleasant, and I scrunch up my nose (after I get cross), but I just do it, and it is no big deal. It’s funny, these things that you just fall into.
But damn! It’s still infuriating.

On a much cuter and more positive note, he is starting to be really affectionate with his stuffed toys. He’s always been very cuddly with his giant teddy and frog, and he has been giving us fiercely tight hugs for a while, but only recently has he started bestowing them on other things. Today his affections were directed mainly towards a little lion, which he would cuddle close to his face, then tuck under his arm as he continued dragging around his lawn mower.

And finally… We’re leaving soon for Christmas with the family. Apparently, after all the flooding, there’s now an infestation of mosquitoes and a higher risk of Ross River Fever.
Queensland is flooding now, too.
And the apparent temperature at 8am here today was -1 degree Celsius. We had a soaring top of 14 degrees. In summer. In Australia. I’m sitting here shivering in my jumper. It’s like the Winter That Never Ends.
It just doesn’t feel right.

