Others.

Reading parenting blogs and keeping up with my Baby Center birth club is starting to become a little detrimental to my confidence, I think.

Devin, surprise, surprise, still doesn’t have any words down pat. I suppose the important thing is that he is always trying, but it’s easy to forget that when you read about all the kids the same age who have a large vocabulary and are starting to string words together. The first thing that goes through my mind is, ‘what am I doing wrong?’

The answer is, it’s not what I’m doing ‘wrong’, it’s just what our situation is. And that is, very isolated, no day care, no interaction with anyone but his parents, and no need to talk because they’ll figure out what he wants eventually, anyway.

One thing I’ve noticed, though, is that a lot of kids Devin’s age are really into The Wiggles, Hi-5, Yo Gabba Gabba, The Night Garden… And Devin wouldn’t have the slightest clue what they are. He never watches TV, ever. One, neither of us are very keen on television, especially Jene. Two, even when it is on, he’s off in about a minute doing something else. I’ve tried watching Yo Gabba Gabba with him in the morning, but he’s just not interested. I really wouldn’t mind if there was a show he enjoyed watching. It might help with his vocabulary. But, nope.

And it’s not just the talking. There are a lot of things that make me droop just a little when I read about them from others. Though I do know that the key word there is ‘others’. It’s just something I’ve been thinking about lately.

 

 

