Vague thoughts on Tuesdays With Morrie.

I started reading Tuesdays With Morrie on a whim at my parents’ place a while ago. I was eating breakfast and I saw it there and picked it up, because yes, I can’t even sit and eat without getting bored.
I kept reading it in little pieces over a week, and I finished in bed one night. And yes, I did shed some tears.

I wouldn’t say it was life changing. None of Morrie’s philosophies were huge revelations to me, at all, and I think that’s why I have such a problem with everyone else, the world…
I am, of course, not really anything like Morrie, apart from sharing his view of how people should be. But, you know, I get so confused and so, so frustrated, because I can’t understand why people are horrible to each other. Why we ended up with such a screwed up culture, an everyday normal. Why everyone is so desperately seeking ‘happiness’ lately, when it’s so obvious that it’s all the normal, average things about our lives now that are making us so miserable.
The end product of the work that most people do, for instance, is completely removed from them personally. They are given money in exchange for their labour, but they’re missing the satisfaction of working for a real purpose, you know? One thing that came up a few times in the book was the materialistic race that everyone is in to always buy new things. Buy the newest things. And of course it’s not their fault. They work, they make something, they don’t get that product, but they do get money, and what are they supposed to do with that money? Keep themselves alive, and try to find some meaning in life. They’ve got this money, they’ve worked for it, surely it must mean something?

I am digressing a little, though. The book was enjoyable. It was a nice read. It was nice to read about someone who was a little more compassionate than the ‘average’ person.
And while I know that it’s not supposed to be a self-help book, I was a little disappointed after reading the one-sentence reviews that occupied the first few pages of the book. Maybe it would have been life-changing to someone like Mitch Albom who was all about career and money. I found it a little light. Plenty of ideas. Not much elaboration. Enjoyable enough, all the same.

