Lullaby and goodnight… something, something, something.

I’ve mentioned before the difficulty I had singing and cooing and talking to baby Devin, because of all the forms of expression, vocal expression is the one I am worst at.

Lately, though, I’ve been finding myself singing to Devin as he’s going to sleep. It started with ‘You Are My Sunshine’ – my kindergarten teacher taught us that, and it has stuck in my head. (A lot of things from that year have, actually.) But I am fairly certain she only taught us the chorus and the first verse, because I don’t know any other parts of the song. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Then I started singing the little green frog song… And upon searching Google just now, I have learned that America has a different version? This is the one that Play School taught me when I was a preschooler –

And I also threw ‘Five Little Ducks’ into my repertoire, just because it takes a few minutes to get through.

You can understand, then, why I’m desperate to learn more songs. I have tried singing ‘normal’ songs to him, but I always draw a complete blank when I’m trying to sing a song that’s not actually playing, with three exceptions – Adam and the Ants’ ‘Prince Charming’, Bat For Lashes’ ‘Daniel’ and Nirvana’s ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’. Um. Yes. It’s all in how you sing it.

They should hand out lullaby lyrics with the packs you get at the hospital when your baby is born… I have homework to do.

Leave a Reply

