She speaks.

This thing was floating around blogs almost a year ago where people recorded themselves as a demonstration of their accents and dialects… I did it but never posted it, possibly because I didn’t like my hair. Or the way my voice sounded. Or my answers. Or the inflection of my voice. I don’t know. Now I just think it’s really funny – mostly for the last ten seconds. It also serves to remind me how much Devin’s speech has progressed within the last year.

In case you can’t understand my lazy Australian accent, the words are – aunt, route, wash, oil, theatre, iron, salmon, caramel, fire, water, sure, data, ruin, crayon, toilet, New Orleans, pecan, both, again, probably, spitting image, Alabama, lawyer, coupon, mayonnaise, syrup, pyjamas, caught.
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called? (I said fizzy drink, but soft drink would have been more accurate. Also, the only thing we call Coke is Coke.)
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls when the sun is shining? (Yeah, I really didn’t stress enough how much I don’t like sun showers.)
What is the thing you use to change the TV channel?

2 thoughts on “She speaks.

  1. I loved to see you did this! Austrailian accents are so great plus since you are on a different continent, lots of things are so diffferent. joggers and fizzy drinks! LOL! i really liked devin echoing you the whole time.

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Isn’t it so funny how there are SO many variations in one language?
      Devin is a great little parrot… perhaps TOO good at copying, sometimes. 😉

Leave a Reply

