Searching

I desperately need to find something to do with my life. As wonderful and exhausting and important as raising a child is, as much as I would happily be a stay-at-home-parent forever – it doesn’t pay bills. (Not that we have many bills at the moment. Because we live with my parents. Because we have no money.)
My work options are limited because I’m inexperienced, unskilled and I didn’t even finish the degree that I wasted all that time on.
I even applied for a job doing stock replenishment at a supermarket, and did not get it. Not even an interview.

I don’t know what to do. No clue. So I’m going to follow this guide for Finding Your Passion.

1. What are you good at?
Writing. I’ve always been good at writing. But I do not like it. It doesn’t excite me. I mainly do it because I know I’m good at it.
Art? I guess. Not really. There’s potential, but jeez, I can’t make a living from it.
Editing video.
Putting way too much effort in things that don’t need it, and not enough into things that do… ?

2. What excites you?
Uhhhh.
Hm.
A stretch of time to relax by myself?

3. What do you read about?
Fantasy/science fiction worlds
Home DIY
Sewing
Science
Psychology
Pregnancy/babies/kids
Photography
Toned-down living

4. What have you secretly dreamed of?
Being a pyrotechnist (that’s someone who makes firework displays, yo.)
Owning my own store
Being a draughtsperson or a scientific illustrator
Being a midwife
Living self-sustainably
Being a massage therapist

Ok, let’s stop there. You see how unfocused and haphazard my brain is. (Although I think this entire blog is already evidence of that.)
I have to admit, I have spent years thinking very hard on this topic, and I have actually finally honed in on something.
My current desire is to become a qualified massage therapist. Then, I would work in that field while, eventually, studying to get a Diploma of Naturopathy. (This is a very long-term plan – the diploma alone takes six years of part-time study.)
Ignoring the logistical and time-management issues of working, studying, and having kids, there’s one major roadblock on that path: I need $3,000 upfront for the massage therapy course. Basically, I need a job so I can study to get a better job, so I can study to get an even better job.
Life is delightful, isn’t it?

Nevertheless, it’s nice to have some kind of tangible goal in mind. And, stay tuned – I have another reason for really needing someone to pay me money in exchange for services. (Spoiler alert – it’s not another baby.)

